Wednesday, May 16, 2018
The FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams® USMTS/USRA Power Rankings
By: Sam Stoecklin
For a third non-consecutive week, Jake O'Neil sits atop the newest USMTS/USRA FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams. Despite an idle week on the USMTS tour, O'Neil hold on to the top spot for a second straight week on the strength of a pair of USMTS wins and the national tour point's lead heading into this weekend's trip to the north country on the USMTS trail.
Lucas Schott, Johnny Scott, and Stormy Scott hold fast in positions two, three, and four while Zack VanderBeek rebounds to the top five swapping positions with Rodney Sanders. Next week will see the top five head back to the tracks and with a combined 14 USMTS victories among the lead group, it's a guessing game as to who will prevail.
This week's prime mover is Darron Fuqua of Mayetta, Kansas, racing out of the Lance Town Oil Services stable with his namesake teammate. The pairing has proven beneficial as both drivers have tasted victory this season, twice for Fuqua last weekend alone with a Friday win at Lakeside Speedway followed by a Saturday win at Lucas Oil Speedway. As a result, Fuqua rockets from number 14 last week to this week's number seven ranking.
Three-time Springfield Raceway winner and current USRA points leader Ryan Gilmore moves up five spots to this week's number 12 position, which like Fuqua, is a new high for the former USRA B-mod National Champion. Speaking of the B-Mod, Gilmore doubled up on the weekend by also capturing the B-mods win along with his Modified win at Springfield.
Tyler Wolff of Arkansas also moves forward on the new rankings and returns to the top 10 this week after posting another victory at Salina Highbanks Speedway. Ryan Middaugh and Trevor Latham return to this week's top 20 on the heels of strong performances over the weekend. Middaugh took the win at Lake Ozark Speedway while Latham rang the bell at Tri-State Speedway.
Falling out of the top 20 this week were Jake Timm and Tanner Mullens. All total, 34 drivers found their way onto the voting sheets this week, down from 38 last week. Drivers not making the top 20 but earning votes include: Jake Timm, RPM Speedway winner Jeremy Willis, Tanner Mullens, Wendall Bolden, Lawton Speedway winner Kale Westover, Lance Town, Philip Houston, Chase Domer, Clyde Dunn, Jr., Jody Tillman, Cory Crapser, Jacob Bleess, Logan Robertson, and Triston Dycus.
We are just a week away from some of the biggest races of the season when Memorial Day weekend rolls around. However, before the USRA and unsanctioned events take the holiday spotlight, USTMS and TOMS touring drivers will return to action to the north and to the south this weekend. USMTS drivers head to I-94 Speedway in Fergus Falls, Minnesota, Ogilvie Raceway in Ogilvie, Minnesota, and Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa. For the TOMS drivers, they return to Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas this weekend.
Speaking of voting staff, is looking to add to the Power Rankings voting pool. If you have an unbiased opinion based on location and drivers and you follow USMTS, USRA, and similar Modified racing very closely, we would like to communicate with you about possibly being added to our voting staff. All results are provided each weekend after the events and sent to the voters for them to make the decisions. All voters have to do is review the results and then rank their top 20 drivers and send in their results by deadline each week. If interested, email Sam Stoecklin at for additional information.
The USMTS/USRA FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams will be back again next Wednesday morning for an all-new rankings! Until then, check out the exclusive features offers and the vast amount of on-demand video from Modified events across the nation from Modified Sanction Bodies across the nation and weekly racing.  
Each week,'s racing insiders rank drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA), and similar car-type results to compile their lists. Voter opinions do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of Send voting inquiries to staff member Sam Stoecklin at
RankPriorDriver Name
11Jake O'Neal
Leads USMTS Hunt Points with 2 wins and 9 top 5s, 12 top 10s.
22Lucas Schott
Strong early season leads to three USMTS victories in Oklahoma, Texas, and Kansas but now has slipped to fifth in USMTS points.
33Johnny Scott
Early season USMTS stand-out driver now has three victories this year. Second in USMTS points with 8 top 5s, 11 top 10s.
44Stormy Scott
Most recent USMTS winner, now has three wins on the year. Third in USMTS points behind brother Johnny.
56Zack VanderBeek
VanderBeek's three USMTS wins cover a wide geographical range in Mississippi, Oklahoma, and New Mexico.
65Rodney Sanders
Back on the USMTS tour, Sanders has had more heartbreak late in races this year than victories but still has a win at Route 66 in Texas.
714Darron Fuqua
Wins over a lite crowd of cars on Friday but then captures second win in as many nights at Lucas Oil on Saturday.
811Tyler Wolff
Back in victory lane at Salina Highbanks on Saturday.
98Terry Phillips
Currently sits 8th overall on the USMTS tour.
107Dereck Ramirez
Consistency near the top puts him sixth overall in USMTS standings with 12 top-ten finishes.
119C.A. Nix
Southern Oklahoma Speedway winner on Saturday. Five USRA wins so far.
1217Ryan Gilmore
Takes third win of the year at Springfield, also won the B-Mods. USRA point leader.
1310Bumper Jones
Returns to action this weekend out west.
1412Cade Dillard
Back and forth in the Late Model and Modified, similar to what Sanders has done.
1513Joe Duvall
Riding high from the Creek County event and thinking about next year's version 2.
16NewRyan Middaugh
Captures Lake Ozark Speedway win on Friday.
1715Ryan Gustin
Still earning votes from the panel despite a hit and miss schedule of events.
TieNewTrevor Latham
His third USRA win of the year at Tri-State
1919Terry Schultz
A quiet sixth at Lake Ozark on Friday, runner-up again at CMS on Saturday in another battle to the finish.
2020Mitch Keeter
Runner-up at Salina Highbanks to Wolff.
Each week, RacinDirt insiders rank their top 20 drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA) results, and USRA-type modified results and competition. The opinions of our voters, are just that, opinions, and do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of or its staff. Would you like to be an USMTS/USRA Power Rankings voter? Email for more information.
On Demand Log In

E-Mail Address: 

Forgot your password?
Forgot your username?
Create an account
© Copyright 2018 Privacy Policy | Terms of Service