Wednesday, October 25, 2017
The FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams® USMTS/USRA Power Rankings
The 2017 race season is near completion; however, there were still plenty of results for our voting staff to sift through from the last few unpublished weeks to compile the latest version of the USMTS/USRA FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams. Just one high-profile event remains before we announce our final top 20 of the year and driver of the year but we will wait another couple of weeks after the Chisholm Trail Showdown before that time arrives. 
For now, Ryan Gustin holds steady atop the standings for an eighth week overall and sixth appearance at the top in 2017. Gustin's Fall Nationals appearance at Southern New Mexico Speedway (SNMS) produced a pair of top-ten runs, enough to edge out this week's number two driver Jason Hughes, who recorded one top-five finish in the desert. 
Third-ranked Zack VanderBeek had a solid outcome at SNMS where he took a preliminary victory and ran strong in the finale, finishing fourth to close out his weekend. Moving back into the top five this week for the first time since late August and ranking higher than he has since the last rankings of 2016, Rodney Sanders vaults forward to number four this week after claiming his second Fall Nationals at SNMS and the $20,000 payout. Completing the top five this week is Cade Dillard, who parked his Modified in favor of going super Late Model racing, in which he parked it for his first-ever Super Late Model victory at Chatham Speedway in his home state of Louisiana. 
Stormy Scott recently posted some strong finishes at the rain-shortened USRA Nationals and ran solidly in the top ten during his SNMS Fall Nationals home-state appearance and hangs on to sixth in this week's rankings. R.C. Whitwell finished on the podium at the annual Tri-State Speedway 'Spooker' and ranks in seventh this week. USRA mainstay Jason Cummins picked up a top-five run into he shorted USRA Nationals at I-35 Speedway recently to come in at number eight while fellow USRA star Ryan Middaugh also finished his year on a high note with a pair of top ten finishes at I-35. Flying back into the top 20 this week and charting his highest-ever placement on the top 20, C.A. Nix rockets back up the rankings after taking a recent win at Southern Oklahoma Speedway.
Behind Nix's impressive top-20 return 'Big Daddy' Joe Duvall vaults back in at number 15 this week after taking the season closer at Oklahoma's Salina Highbanks Speedway. Tyler Wolff also returns to the top 20 this week after finishing runner-up at the Tri-State Spooker. Our final re-entry of the week is 'Lil Freaky' Clyde Dunn, Jr., of Texas, who rides a second TOMS win of the year back into the top 20 after posting a victory at Superbowl Speedway. 
Falling out of the top 20 this week from the last rankings are Jake Gallardo, Fito Gallardo, Johnny Bone, Jr., and Brian Williams. All total, 35 drivers earned votes from the staff this weekend, down from 39 during our last published rankings. Additional drivers outside the top 20 this week who earned votes include: Josh Angst, Spooker winner Terry Phillips, Chris Henigan, recent Devil's Bowl winner Troy Taylor, Dustin Sorensen, Fito Gallardo, Jake Gallardo, Max Eddie Thomas, Johnny Bone, Jr., Trevor Latham, recent Springfield Raceway winner Jody Tillman, Brian Williams, Johnny Scott, and Ryan Gillmore.  
If you missed any of previous week's from around the country, don't fret, has you covered. Our vast on-demand video library includes recent events such as the USRA Nationals, Fall Jamboree, the Dirt Track World Championship and much more. If you missed any results from the recent weeks, check out our latest exclusive edition of 'Invert the Dirt' in which we recap Modified and Late Model results from throughout the country. 
Our next and final USMTS/USRA FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams top 20 will appear after the Chisholm Trail Showdown, which takes place over November 3rd and 4th at 81 Speedway in Kansas as the USMTS season comes to a close. We will use results from the event coupled with drivers' full year achievements to determine our Driver of the Year! The race is wide open with so many drivers posting strong seasons, who will come out on top is anyone's guess at this point!
Each week,'s hand-selected racing insiders rank drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA), and similar car-type results. Voter opinions do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of Voting inquiries may be addressed to staff member Sam Stoecklin at
RankPriorDriver Name
11Ryan Gustin
Posts a pair of top tens in USRA Fall Nationals at Southern New Mexico Speedway.
22Jason Hughes
Musters a single top five in Fall Nationals action.
33Zack VanderBeek
Snags a win on night two and finishes fourth in Fall Nationals finale.
48Rodney Sanders
Takes home 20 G's in Fall Nationals grand finale.
54Cade Dillard
Parks the Modified for a Late Model and picks up first-ever super late model victory.
66Stormy Scott
Posts a quiet pair of top 10's in Fall Nationals.
75R.C. Whitwell
Recently made the podium at Tri-State Speedway's annual 'Spooker' event.
87Jason Cummins
Quiet during the USRA nationals but it's all good when you're the king of USRA in 2017.
99Ryan Middaugh
Solid all year long with a pair of top ten runs at the recent USRA Nationals.
10NewC.A. Nix
Busy man lately with a recent win at Southern Oklahoma Speedway.
1111Mitch Keeter
Records a pair of recent top fives as phenomenal season rolls forward.
1213Jake Timm
Takes Fall Festival win to close out northern season at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.
1310Lucas Schott
Former USRA champ ends the year in silence.
1412Dereck Ramirez
Successful Fall Nationals run with a trio of top-12 finishes including a fourth on night two.
15NewJoe Duvall
Takes win in final race of the year at Salina Highbanks Speedway.
16NewTyler Wolff
Second to Terry Phillips at Tri-State's Spooker.
17NewClyde Dunn Jr.
Claims second TOMS victory of the year by taking win at Superbowl Speedway.
1818Bumper Jones
Finishes the season strong with solid top 10 on final night of Fall Nationals.
1916Ricky Thornton Jr
Fall nationals and night one winner runs to a third-place finish in finale.
2014Triston Dycus
TOMS standout takes recent victory at Superbowl and posts podium finish last weekend.
Each week, RacinDirt insiders rank their top 20 drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA) results, and USRA-type modified results and competition. The opinions of our voters, are just that, opinions, and do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of or its staff. Would you like to be an USMTS/USRA Power Rankings voter? Email for more information.
On Demand Log In

E-Mail Address: 

Forgot your password?
Forgot your username?
Create an account
© Copyright 2017 Privacy Policy | Terms of Service