Wednesday, August 2, 2017
The FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams® USMTS/USRA Power Rankings
By: Sam Stoecklin
On the verge of the USMTS Hunt, Zack VanderBeek heads into the annual trek for the overall championship in the number one position for a seventh straight week on the latest version of the USMTS/USRA FAST® Power Rankings Presented by COMP Cams.
VanderBeek just edges out the hottest "weekly" racer this season, Jason Cummins, who recently assumed command of the USRA National Points. Cummins has accumulated a dozen wins this season and moves into the number two ranking becoming the highest ranked non-USMTS driver since Lucas Schott was number two last November. This is the highest position Cummins has ever risen to on the rankings. 
A pair of drivers expected to make big noise when the USMTS Hunt takes flight sit in the number three and four positions this week. Ryan Gustin and Cade Dillard slip back one position each while R.C. Whitwell rides a pair of weekend runner-up finishes to find his way back into the top five this week. 
Rounding out the top ten are Stormy Scott, Bumper Jones, Lucas Schott, Jason Hughes, and Ryan Middaugh, whose number nine ranking tied with Hughes is the first-ever visit inside the top ten for the former national USRA point's leader who claimed his tenth victory of the year last weekend at Lake Ozark Speedway.
Elsewhere on the rankings, two-time weekend TOMS winner Triston Dycus comes flying back onto the rankings at a new high watermark for the driver tied for 12th on the rankings. Fito Gallardo was also a double-winner last weekend during Southern New Mexico Speedway's Summer Sizzler and finds his way back onto the rankings at number 17. The other driver to reappear on the rankings this week is northern-driver Josh Angst, who rolled off a pair of top-five finishes in Northern-tier action last weekend. 
Falling out of the top 20 this weekend are Logan Robertson, C.A. Nix, and Ricky Thornton, Jr., who, ironically picked up one of the Casey's Crew rides during the upcoming USRA Hunt events. Thornton will likely find his way back inside the top 20 in the coming weeks. 
Additional drivers falling just short of the top 20 this week include CMS winner Jim Moody, Logan Robertson, C.A. Nix, Dustin Sorensen, Ricky Thornton Jr, Jake Gallardo, Kevin Blackburn, Lakeside winner Nic Bidinger, Joe Duvall, Troy Taylor, I-35 winner Dennis Elliott,  Hunt Crew member Cory Crapser, Jake Hartung, Johnny Bone Jr, Jacob Bleess, and Zane DeVilbiss. Jim Moody Logan Robertson C.A. Nix Dustin Sorensen Ricky Thornton Jr Jake Gallardo Kevin Blackburn Nic Bidinger Joe Duvall Troy Taylor Dennis Elliott Cory Crapser Jake Hartung Johnny Bone Jr Jacob Bleess Zane DeVilbiss. A total of 36 drivers received votes this week, up one from last week's 35 drivers. 
The USMTS 'Hunt' for the Championship begins this weekend and the results will weight heavily on next week's rankings. Action begins August 3rd at Springfield Raceway, Springfield, Mo. ($3,000 to win), continues on August 4th at Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan. ($3,000 to win), moves over to Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo. on August 5th ($3,000 to win) and winds up the weekend on August 6th at Monett Speedway, Monett, Mo. ($3,000 to win).
Be sure to tune into for live coverage of Hunt events if you cannot make it to the tracks in person. has you covered for throughout the Hunt. For additional ordering information visit Don't forget we also have one of the largest libraries of on-demand videos in the country from previous Modified and Late Model action throughout the nation including USMTS, MLRA, MARS, and national tour coverage of events. 
Each week,'s hand-selected racing insiders rank drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA), and similar car-type results. Voter opinions do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of Voting inquiries may be addressed to staff member Sam Stoecklin at
RankPriorDriver Name
11Zack VanderBeek
Will he contend for the Hunt Championship? One voter stated, "I believe is the one to beat, the most consistent driver."
24Jason Cummins
Chateau winner on Friday for his 12th win of the year, top-five run at Deer Creek on Saturday for the USRA point's leader.
32Ryan Gustin
One voter says, "He should be renamed "Big Money" as opposed to the Reaper!"
43Cade Dillard
Watch for Dillard to take some chances and make a push during the Hunt.
57R.C. Whitwell
Runner-up to Keeter on Friday at the 'Hummer then runner-up to Wolff at Salina Highbanks on Saturday.
66Stormy Scott
Another driver to keep an eye on for the hunt.
75Bumper Jones
Top ten in Las Cruces for Summer Sizzle event.
87Lucas Schott
All quiet up north.
910Jason Hughes
One voter says, "Miss seeing him behind the wheel … hopefully returning soon!"
Tie12Ryan Middaugh
Captures win number 10 at Lake Ozark Speedway for his seventh LOS track win; currently second in USRA points.
119Rodney Sanders
Finishes ninth at Deer Creek in Saturday USRA action but what path will he choose, the Hunt events or the many big late model events coming up.
1211Johnny Scott
We'll see how his luck runs in the Hunt.
TieNewTriston Dycus
Takes command and sweeps weekend TOMS action at RPM and Devil's Bowl Speedways.
1413Jake Timm
Solid runner-up finish at Deer Creek on Saturday after running sixth on Friday at MTS.
Tie16Mitch Keeter
Holds off a very hard-charging R.C. Whitwell over final two laps at Humboldt for his tenth weekly race series win of the season and retains his Division 1 NASCAR point's lead.
1617Tyler Wolff
Rolls to victory lane at Salina Highbanks Speedway on Saturday after solid top-five at Humboldt on Friday.
17NewFito Gallardo
Double weekend winner at Southern New Mexico Speedway's Summer Sizzler special.
1814Dereck Ramirez
Downtime before the Hunt begins.
TieNewJosh Angst
Second at Mississippi Thunder on Friday followed by a top-five run at the 'Creek in Saturday action.
2020Jackie Dalton
10th USRA win Picked up another at Springfield. Great season for Dalton.
Each week, RacinDirt insiders rank their top 20 drivers based on United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS), United States Racing Association (USRA) results, and USRA-type modified results and competition. The opinions of our voters, are just that, opinions, and do not reflect the thoughts as a whole of or its staff. Would you like to be an USMTS/USRA Power Rankings voter? Email for more information.
On Demand Log In

E-Mail Address: 

Forgot your password?
Forgot your username?
Create an account
© Copyright 2018 Privacy Policy | Terms of Service